GroundTurf Moor
AddressBurnley, Lancashire, England
Ground Info Turf Moor is an association football stadium in Burnley, Lancashire, England, which has been the home of Burnley F.C. since 1883. This unbroken service makes Turf Moor the second-longest continuously used ground in English professional football. The stadium is situated on Harry Potts Way, named after the manager who won the 1959–60 First Division with the club, and has a capacity of 21,944. The Turf Moor site has been used for sporting activities since at least 1843, when Burnley Cricket Club moved to the area. In 1883, they invited Burnley F.C. to use a pitch adjacent to the cricket field. The first grandstand was not built until 1885, while terraces were also added to each end of the ground in the same year. Between the mid-1950s and mid-1970s, all stands were rebuilt. Turf Moor underwent further refurbishment during the 1990s, when the Longside and the Bee Hole End terraces were replaced by all-seater stands following the recommendations of the Taylor Report. As of 2021, the ground comprises four stands: the Bob Lord Stand, the Cricket Field Stand, the James Hargreaves Stand and the Jimmy McIlroy Stand. Turf Moor became the first football ground to be visited by a member of the Royal Family, when Prince Albert Victor attended a friendly match between Burnley and Bolton Wanderers in 1886. The first Football League match at the ground took place in October 1888; Fred Poland scored the first league goal at the stadium. In 1922, Turf Moor hosted its only FA Cup semi-final, and in 1927, it was the venue of an international match between England and Wales. The stadium's record attendance was set in 1924, when 54,775 people attended an FA Cup third round game between Burnley and Huddersfield Town.
HonoursBurnley Football Club is an English association football club based in Burnley, Lancashire. Founded on 18 May 1882, it was one of the first to become professional (in 1883), and subsequently put pressure on the Football Association to permit payments to players. The club entered the FA Cup for the first time in 1885–86 and was one of the 12 founder members of the Football League in 1888–89. From the 1950s until the 1970s, under chairman Bob Lord, the club became renowned for its youth policy and scouting system, and was one of the first to set up a purpose-built training ground. The team currently compete in the Premier League, the top tier of English football.

Burnley have been champions of England twice, in 1920–21 and 1959–60, have won the FA Cup once, in 1913–14, and have won the FA Charity Shield twice, in 1960 and 1973. They have been runners-up in the First Division twice, in 1919–20 and 1961–62, and FA Cup runners-up twice, in 1946–47 and 1961–62. The team also reached the quarter-finals of the 1960–61 European Cup. Burnley are one of only five sides to have won all four professional divisions of English football, along with Wolverhampton Wanderers, Preston North End, Sheffield United and Portsmouth. When the team won the 1959–60 Football League, the town of Burnley became the smallest to have an English first tier champion.

The team have played home games at Turf Moor since 1883, after they had moved from their original premises at Calder Vale. The club colours of claret and blue were adopted before the 1910–11 season in tribute to the then Football League champions Aston Villa. The club is nicknamed "the Clarets", because of the dominant colour of its home shirts. Burnley's current emblem is based on the town's coat of arms. The team have a long-standing rivalry with nearby club Blackburn Rovers, with whom they contest the East Lancashire Derby.
Honours and achievements
For honours won by Reserves and Academy teams, see Burnley F.C. Under-23s and Academy § Honours.
Burnley were the second, and are one of only five teams to have won all four professional divisions of English football, along with Wolverhampton Wanderers, Preston North End, Sheffield United and Portsmouth. The club's honours include the following:

First Division (Tier 1)

Winners: 1920–21, 1959–60
Runners–up: 1919–20, 1961–62
Second Division/Championship (Tier 2)

Winners: 1897–98, 1972–73, 2015–16
Promoted: 1912–13, 1946–47, 2013–14
Play–off winners: 2008–09
Third Division/Second Division (Tier 3)

Winners: 1981–82
Promoted: 1999–2000
Play–off winners: 1993–94
Fourth Division (Tier 4)

Winners: 1991–92
FA Cup

Winners: 1913–14
Runners–up: 1946–47, 1961–62
FA Charity Shield

Winners: 1960 (shared), 1973
Runners–up: 1921
Texaco Cup

Runners–up: 1973–74
Anglo-Scottish Cup

Winners: 1978–79
Associate Members' Cup

Runners–up: 1987–88
Lancashire Cup

Winners: (12) 1889–90, 1914–15, 1949–50, 1951–52, 1959–60, 1960–61, 1961–62, 1964–65, 1965–66, 1969–70, 1971–72, 1992–93
Visit website

Burnley Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
1 Nick Pope Goalkeeper 30 198cm
2 Matthew Lowton Defender 32 180cm
3 Charlie Taylor Defender 28 176cm
4 Jack Cork Midfielder 32 185cm
5 James Tarkowski Defender 29 185cm
6 Ben Mee Defender 32 180cm
7 Jóhann Berg Gudmundsson Midfielder 31 186cm
8 Josh Brownhill Midfielder 26 179cm
9 Chris Wood Forward 30 191cm
10 Ashley Barnes Forward 32 186cm
11 Dwight McNeil Midfielder 22 183cm
12 Robbie Brady Midfielder 30 176cm
15 Bailey Peacock-Farrell Goalkeeper 25 194cm
16 Dale Stephens Midfielder 32 185cm
18 Ashley Westwood Midfielder 32 174cm
19 Jay Rodríguez Forward 32 185cm
23 Erik Pieters Defender 33 183cm
25 Will Norris Goalkeeper 28 190cm
26 Phil Bardsley Defender 36 180cm
27 Matej Vydra Forward 30 180cm
28 Kevin Long Defender 31 188cm
31 Richard Nartey Defender 23 184cm
34 Jimmy Dunne Defender 24 191cm