GroundEstadio de la Cerámica
AddressVillarreal, Spain
Ground Info Estadio de la Cerámica, formerly and informally called El Madrigal is a football stadium in Villarreal, Spain, used since 1923. It is currently the home venue of Villarreal CF of La Liga, the highest football league in Spain. The stadium has 23,500 seats, a figure which is half the population of the city of Villarreal, making it the 25th-largest stadium in Spain and the 5th-largest in the Valencian Community. The stadium was inaugurated on 17 June 1923 with a match between Castellón and Cervantes under the name Campo del Villarreal (Villarreal Field), becoming renamed two years later in honour to the rural lands on which it was erected. Nicknamed the Feudo Amarillo ("Yellow Fief"), it is located at Plaza Labrador, five kilometres away from the Mediterranean Sea, and at an altitude of 50 metres. The first remodeling works took place on the stadium in the close season before the 1952–53 season. The size of the pitch was taken from 95 x 65 m to 105 x 65 m, matching that of the Helsinki Olympic Stadium of the 1952 Summer Olympics, a reference to copy during those years. During the 1960s the club erected a small covered stand, and during the 1971–72 season the southern stands were finished. In 1988 it was demolished to make room for a new stand which opened on 8 March 1989 with a friendly match against Atlético Madrid. For the club's 75th anniversary new renovation works were started. The south stand was again demolished to erect a new one with a roof, an amphitheatre, the VIP sector, and the northern stand were built, finishing the works at the 1999–2000 season. The stadium was first floodlit for night matches on 16 September 1973 for the third division match between Villarreal and Ibiza. The city hall provided help for the construction of the floodlight towers located at each of the four corners of the field, with nine halogen lamps on top of each one. The changing rooms were moved several times. Until the 1935–36 season they were at the south eastern corner of the stadium, then at the north east until 1989, when they were moved to the south western part. After the last modifications to the stadium, they are now under the main stand. On 8 January 2017, just before a La Liga match against Barcelona, Villarreal changed the name of its stadium from El Madrigal to Estadio de la Cerámica (English: Ceramics Stadium) recognising the local industry. In February 2021, Norwegian club Molde FK played their Europa League last 32 home match at the ground, due to COVID-19 travel restrictions in their own country.
HonoursVillarreal Club de Fútbol, just Villarreal, is a professional football club based in Villarreal, that plays in La Liga.
Founded in 1923, the club spent much of its history in the lower divisions of Spanish football and made their La Liga debut only in 1998. In the 21st century, Villarreal gained some league stability, and the club made its first appearance in the UEFA Champions League in 2005. The club also appeared in the UEFA Europa League during this time, but sustained relegation in 2012, rebounding the next year and then remaining in the top division to date. Villarreal won its first major honour in 2021, by defeating Manchester United in the 2021 UEFA Europa League Final.

The club is nicknamed El Submarí Groguet or El Submarino Amarillo (Yellow Submarine) due to its yellow home kit, and due to being a low-profile team compared to Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atlético Madrid, and regional rivals Valencia. They play their home games at the Estadio de la Cerámica, and have been touted as an example of a small but successful club.
La Liga
Runners-up: 2007–08
Segunda División
Runners-up: 2012–13
Segunda División B
Runners-up: 1987–88, 1991–92
Tercera División
Winners: 1969–70
UEFA Europa League
Winners: 2020–21
UEFA Intertoto Cup
Winners: 2003, 2004
Visit website

Villarreal CF Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
1 Sergio Asenjo Goalkeeper 32 189cm
2 Mario Gaspar Defender 31 180cm
3 Raúl Albiol Defender 36 190cm
4 Pau Torres Defender 25 191cm
5 Dani Parejo Midfielder 33 182cm
6 Ramiro Funes Mori Defender 31 186cm
7 Gerard Moreno Forward 30 180cm
8 Juan Foyth Defender 24 187cm
9 Carlos Bacca Forward 35 181cm
11 Samuel Chukwueze Forward 23 172cm
12 Dani Raba Forward 26 184cm
13 Gerónimo Rulli Goalkeeper 30 189cm
14 Manu Trigueros Midfielder 30 178cm
15 Pervis Estupiñán Defender 24 175cm
17 Paco Alcácer Forward 28 175cm
18 Alberto Moreno Defender 29 171cm
19 Francis Coquelin Midfielder 31 177cm
20 Rubén Peña Defender 30 170cm
21 Jaume Costa Defender 34 171cm
23 Moi Gómez Forward 27 176cm
25 Étienne Capoue Midfielder 33 189cm
30 Yeremi Pino Forward 19 172cm
32 Álex Baena Forward 20 174cm
34 Alfonso Pedraza Defender 26 184cm
34 Fer Niño Forward 21 190cm