Manchester City

GroundCity of Manchester Stadium
AddressAshton New Rd, Manchester M11 3FF, Great Britain
Ground Info The City of Manchester Stadium (often abbreviated as CoMS) in Manchester, England, also known as the Etihad Stadium for sponsorship reasons, is the home of Manchester City F.C., with a domestic football capacity of 55,017, making it the sixth-largest in the Premier League and tenth-largest in the United Kingdom. Built to host the 2002 Commonwealth Games, the stadium has since staged the 2008 UEFA Cup Final, England football internationals, rugby league matches, a boxing world title fight, the England rugby union team's last match of the 2015 Rugby World Cup and summer music concerts during the football off-season. The stadium, originally proposed as an athletics arena in Manchester's bid for the 2000 Summer Olympics, was converted after the 2002 Commonwealth Games from a 38,000 capacity arena to a 48,000 seat football stadium at a cost to the city council of £22 million and to Manchester City of £20 million. Manchester City F.C. agreed to lease the stadium from Manchester City Council and moved there from Maine Road in the summer of 2003. The stadium was built by Laing Construction at a cost of £112 million and was designed and engineered by Arup, whose design incorporated a cable-stayed roof structure which is separated from the main stadium bowl and suspended entirely by twelve exterior masts and attached cables. The stadium design has received much praise and many accolades, including an award from the Royal Institute of British Architects in 2004 for its innovative inclusive building design and a special award in 2003 from the Institution of Structural Engineers for its unique structural design. In August 2015, a 7,000 seat third tier on the South Stand was completed, in time for the start of the 2015–16 football season. The expansion was designed to be in keeping with the existing roof design.
HonoursManchester City Football Club is an English football club based in Manchester that competes in the Premier League, the top flight of English football. Founded in 1880 as St. Mark's (West Gorton), it became Ardwick Association Football Club in 1887 and Manchester City in 1894. The club's home ground is the City of Manchester Stadium in east Manchester, to which it moved in 2003, having played at Maine Road since 1923. The club adopted their sky blue home shirts in 1894 in the first season of the club's current iteration, that have been used ever since.

Manchester City entered the Football League in 1892, and won their first major honour with the FA Cup in 1904. The club had its first major period of success in the late 1960s, winning the League, European Cup Winners Cup, FA Cup and League Cup under the management of Joe Mercer and Malcolm Allison. After losing the 1981 FA Cup Final, the club went through a period of decline, culminating in relegation to the third tier of English football for the only time in its history in 1998. They since regained promotion to the top tier in 2001–02 and have remained a fixture in the Premier League since 2002–03.

In 2008, Manchester City was purchased by Abu Dhabi United Group for £210 million and received considerable financial investment in both playing staff and club facilities, including the £150 million Etihad Campus in east Manchester. Under the management of Pep Guardiola they won the Premier League in 2018 becoming the only Premier League team to attain 100 points in a single season. In 2019, they won four trophies, completing an unprecedented sweep of all domestic trophies in England and becoming the first English men's team to win the domestic treble.

Manchester City's revenue was the fifth highest of a football club in the world in the 2018–19 season at €568.4 million. In 2019, Forbes estimated the club was the fifth most valuable in the world at $2.69 billion, The club is owned by the City Football Group, a British-based holding company valued at £3.73 (US$4.8) billion in November 2019 following a 10% stake sale to Silver Lake.
Based on trophy count, Manchester City are one of the most successful teams in England – their twenty-six major domestic and European honours make them tied for fifth with Tottenham Hotspur F.C. on the list of most decorated sides in England.

The club's first major trophy was the 1904 FA Cup,[ though they had previously won three Manchester Cups before that point. Their first top division league title came in the 1936–37 season, with the first Community Shield won in the following August. Their first League Cup and European trophy both came at the end of the 1969–70 season, the two trophies also constituting their first trophy double. In 2018–19 Manchester City became the first team to claim all of the major English trophies available in a single season, winning not just the Premier League, FA Cup and League Cup but also the Community Shield.

1970 Cup Winners' Cup victory remains City's only European trophy to date. They reached the semi-final of the Champions League once, in 2016.

Manchester City jointly hold the record for most second division titles with Leicester City, both clubs having won the league on seven occasions. Their first victory was in 1898–99, and the most recent in 2001–02.

First Division / Premier League (Level 1)
Winners (6): 1936–37, 1967–68, 2011–12, 2013–14, 2017–18, 2018–19
Runners-up (6): 1903–04, 1920–21, 1976–77, 2012–13, 2014–15, 2019–20
Second Division / First Division / Championship (Level 2)
Winners (7): 1898–99, 1902–03, 1909–10, 1927–28, 1946–47, 1965–66, 2001–02
Runners-up (4): 1895–96, 1950–51, 1988–89, 1999–2000
Promoted 3rd place (1): 1984–85
Third Division / Second Division / League One (Level 3)
Play-off winners (1): 1998–99
FA Cup
Winners (6): 1903–04, 1933–34, 1955–56, 1968–69, 2010–11, 2018–19
Runners-up (5): 1925–26, 1932–33, 1954–55, 1980–81, 2012–13
Football League Cup / EFL Cup
Winners (7): 1969–70, 1975–76, 2013–14, 2015–16, 2017–18, 2018–19, 2019–20
Runners-up (1): 1973–74
FA Charity Shield / FA Community Shield
Winners (6): 1937, 1968, 1972, 2012, 2018, 2019
Runners-up (6): 1934, 1956, 1969, 1973, 2011, 2014
European Cup Winners' Cup
Winners (1): 1969–70
Doubles and Trebles
League and EFL Cup (2): 2013–14, 2017–18
League Cup and European Cup Winners' Cup (1): 1969–70
Domestic treble (League, FA Cup, and EFL Cup) (1): 2018–19
Visit website


Manchester City Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
2 Kyle Walker Defender 32 183cm
3 Rúben Dias Defender 25 187cm
5 John Stones Defender 28 188cm
6 Nathan Aké Defender 27 180cm
7 Raheem Sterling Midfielder 27 170cm
8 Ilkay Gündogan Midfielder 31 180cm
9 Gabriel Jesus Forward 25 175cm
10 Sergio Agüero Forward 33 173cm
11 Oleksandr Zinchenko Defender 25 175cm
13 Zack Steffen Goalkeeper 27 191cm
14 Aymeric Laporte Defender 28 189cm
16 Rodri Midfielder 25 191cm
17 Kevin De Bruyne Midfielder 30 181cm
20 Bernardo Silva Midfielder 27 173cm
21 Ferran Torres Midfielder 22 184cm
25 Fernandinho Midfielder 37 179cm
26 Riyad Mahrez Midfielder 31 179cm
27 João Cancelo Defender 28 182cm
31 Ederson Goalkeeper 28 188cm
33 Scott Carson Goalkeeper 36 188cm
34 Philippe Sandler Defender 25 190cm
47 Phil Foden Midfielder 22 171cm
50 Eric García Defender 21 183cm