GroundStadio Luigi Ferraris
AddressGenoa, Italy
Ground Info The Stadio Comunale Luigi Ferraris, also known as the Marassi from the name of the neighbourhood where it is located, is a multi-use stadium in Genoa, Italy. The home of Genoa C.F.C. and U.C. Sampdoria football clubs, it opened in 1911 and is one of the oldest stadiums still in use for football and other sports in Italy. Aside from football, the stadium has hosted meetings of rugby in the Italian national team and, more rarely, some concerts. The stadium is named after Luigi Ferraris, an Italian footballer, engineer and soldier who died during WWI. The stadium was inaugurated on 22 January 1911 with a football match between Genoa and Internazionale, and had a capacity of 20,000. On 22 December 1912, it hosted its first international, in which Italy lost 3–1 to Austria in a friendly. It also hosted the 1934 World Cup round-of-16 match between Spain and Brazil, and by then its capacity had been expanded to 30,000. The stadium was dismantled and rebuilt before the 1990 FIFA World Cup, for which it hosted three Group C matches (between Costa Rica, Scotland and Sweden) and a round-of-16 match between the Republic of Ireland and Romania. The highest attendance at the Luigi Ferraris was 60,000 on 27 February 1949, for a match between Italy and Portugal. On 12 October 2010, a Euro 2012 qualifier between Italy and Serbia was abandoned after Serbia fans continued to throw flares onto the pitch and light fireworks. When the game finally began, more flares and fireworks were thrown onto the field and the referee stopped the match after only six minutes of play. On 29 February 2012, the United States defeated Italy 1–0 in a friendly played at the stadium. It was the first time that Italy had been defeated in Genoa and the first time that the US had ever defeated Italy. On 14 November 2014, it hosted Italy's end-of-year rugby union international against Argentina who won 20–18.
HonoursGenoa Cricket and Football Club, commonly referred to as Genoa, is a professional football club based in Genoa, Liguria, Italy.
Established on 7 September 1893, it is Italy's oldest football team, and the oldest Italian football team still active to this day, with over 125 years of history.

During their long history, Genoa have won the Italian Championship nine times. Genoa's first title came at the inaugural championship in 1898 and their most recent was in 1923–24. They have also won the Coppa Italia once. Historically, Genoa are the fourth most successful Italian club in terms of championships won.

This slew of early successes may lie at the origin of the love professed for the team by the godfather of Italian sports journalists Gianni Brera (1919–92), who, despite having been born nowhere near Genoa, always declared himself a supporter of the team. Brera went as far as creating the nickname Vecchio Balordo (Old Fool or Cranky Old One) for Genoa.

The club has played its home games at the 36,536 capacity Stadio Luigi Ferraris since 1911. Since 1946, the ground has been shared with local rivals Sampdoria. Genoa has spent most of its post-war history going up and down between Serie A and Serie B, with two brief spells in Serie C.
National titles
Italian Football Championship / Northern League / Serie A:

Winners (9): 1898, 1899, 1900, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1914–15, 1922–23, 1923–24
Runners-up (8): 1901, 1905, 1912–13, 1913–14, 1921–22, 1924–25, 1927–28, 1929–30
Coppa Italia: 1

Winners: 1936–37
Runners-up: 1939–40
Serie B: 6

Champions: 1934–35, 1952–53, 1961–62, 1972–73, 1975–76, 1988–89
Runners-up: 1980–81
Promoted: 2006–07
Sub-national titles
Serie C / Serie C1: 1 (North)

Champions: 1970–71
Runners-up : 2005–06
European titles
Mitropa Cup:

Runners-up: 1990
Coppa delle Alpi: 2

Winners: 1962, 1964
Anglo-Italian Cup: 1

Winners: 1996
Youth titles
Campionato Nazionale Primavera: 1

Winners: 2009–10
Coppa Italia Primavera: 1

Winners: 2008–09
Primavera Super Cup: 2

Winners: 2009, 2010
Torneo di Viareggio: 2

Winners: 1965, 2007
Visit website

Genoa C.F.C. Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
1 Mattia Perin Goalkeeper 29 188cm
2 Cristián Zapata Defender 35 187cm
4 Domenico Criscito Defender 35 183cm
5 Edoardo Goldaniga Defender 28 193cm
9 Gianluca Scamacca Forward 23 195cm
11 Valon Behrami Midfielder 37 184cm
14 Davide Biraschi Defender 27 182cm
16 Miha Zajc Midfielder 27 178cm
17 Manolo Portanova Midfielder 21 183cm
18 Paolo Ghiglione Midfielder 25 191cm
19 Goran Pandev Midfielder 38 184cm
20 Kevin Strootman Midfielder 32 186cm
21 Ivan Radovanovic Midfielder 33 187cm
22 Federico Marchetti Goalkeeper 39 188cm
23 Mattia Destro Forward 31 182cm
24 Filippo Melegoni Midfielder 23 186cm
25 Jérôme Onguéné Defender 24 187cm
29 Francesco Cassata Midfielder 24 183cm
30 Giuseppe Caso Midfielder 23 172cm
32 Alberto Paleari Goalkeeper 29 193cm
37 Marko Pjaca Midfielder 27 186cm
38 Lukas Zima Goalkeeper 28 196cm
47 Milan Badelj Midfielder 33 186cm
55 Andrea Masiello Defender 36 184cm
61 Eldor Shomurodov Forward 26 190cm
65 Nicolò Rovella Midfielder 20 179cm
77 Davide Zappacosta Midfielder 29 182cm
88 Luca Pellegrini Defender 23 178cm
99 Lennart Czyborra Midfielder 23 181cm