Bayer Leverkusen

AddressLeverkusen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Ground Info Bay Arena is a football stadium in Leverkusen, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany, which has been the home ground of Bundesliga club Bayer 04 Leverkusen since 1958. The stadium was originally known as Ulrich-Haberland-Stadion, named after a former chairman of Bayer AG, the club's founders. Its original capacity was 20,000. In 1986, a rebuilding project began to convert it into a modern facility; the project continued intermittently over the following decade. The project was completed in 1997, making the stadium an ultramodern all-seater with a capacity of 22,500. The stadium was renamed BayArena in 1998. In 1999, a hotel attached to the stadium was completed, with some rooms having a view of the pitch. The stadium complex also includes a high-class restaurant, which also overlooks the pitch, and conference facilities. The city of Leverkusen originally bid to become a venue for the 2006 World Cup, with an expanded Bay Arena as the site. However, the city, Bayer Leverkusen, and the German organizing committee soon agreed that expanding Bay Arena to the FIFA-mandated minimum 40,000 capacity for World Cup matches would not be practical, and the city withdrew its bid. Instead, it was agreed that Bay Arena would be the main training facility for the German national team during the 2006 finals. Jürgen Klinsmann, former national coach, however decided against Leverkusen and opted for Berlin as the main training facility. As compensation, BayArena would supposedly host two national matches, though they were never played. His brother Roussel is also a footballer, and appeared for the Germany youth national teams.
HonoursBayer 04 Leverkusen Fußball, also known as Bayer 04 Leverkusen, is a football club based in Leverkusen in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia.
The club was founded in 1904 by employees of the German pharmaceutical company Bayer AG, whose headquarters are in Leverkusen and from which the club draws its name. It was formerly the best-known department of TSV Bayer 04 Leverkusen, a sports club whose members also participate in athletics, gymnastics, basketball and other sports including the RTHC Bayer Leverkusen (rowing, tennis and hockey). In 1999 the football department was separated from the sports club and is now a separate entity formally called Bayer 04 Leverkusen GmbH. Bayer were first promoted to the Bundesliga in 1979, and have remained in the top division ever since. The club's main colours are red and black, both having been used as the main shirt colour and with red and black stripes also having been used as home colours.

Bayer Leverkusen have finished five times runner-up in the Bundesliga without winning the competition, a record in German football. The club has won one DFB-Pokal and one UEFA Cup. Bayer also finished runner-up in the 2001–02 UEFA Champions League, falling 2–1 to Real Madrid in the final. Their local rivals are 1. FC Köln.

Runners-up: 1996–97, 1998–99, 1999–2000, 2001–02, 2010–11
2. Bundesliga North:

Winners: 1978–79

Winners: 1992–93
Runners-up: 2001–02, 2008–09, 2019–20

Runners-up: 1993

Winners: 1987–88
UEFA Champions League:

Runners-up: 2001–02
German Under 19 championship
Champions: 1986, 2000, 2007
Runners-up: 1995, 2001, 2003, 2010
German Under 17 championship
Champions: 1992, 2016
Under 19 Bundesliga West
Champions: 2007, 2010
Visit website

Bayer 04 Leverkusen Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
1 Lukas Hradecky Goalkeeper 31 192cm
2 Santiago Arias Defender 29 177cm
4 Jonathan Tah Defender 25 195cm
5 Sven Bender Defender 32 186cm
6 Aleksandar Dragovic Defender 30 186cm
7 Paulinho Midfielder 20 177cm
8 Lars Bender Defender 32 185cm
9 Leon Bailey Midfielder 23 178cm
10 Kerem Demirbay Midfielder 27 183cm
11 Nadiem Amiri Midfielder 24 180cm
12 Edmond Tapsoba Defender 22 194cm
13 Lucas Alario Forward 28 185cm
14 Patrik Schick Forward 25 187cm
15 Julian Baumgartlinger Midfielder 33 184cm
16 Tin Jedvaj Defender 25 185cm
18 Wendell Defender 27 176cm
19 Moussa Diaby Midfielder 21 170cm
20 Charles Aránguiz Midfielder 32 171cm
21 Lennart Grill Goalkeeper 22 191cm
22 Daley Sinkgraven Defender 25 179cm
23 Mitchell Weiser Defender 27 177cm
24 Timothy Fosu-Mensah Defender 23 185cm
25 Exequiel Palacios Midfielder 22 177cm
27 Florian Wirtz Midfielder 18 176cm
28 Demarai Gray Midfielder 24 183cm
30 Jeremie Frimpong Defender 20 171cm
32 Samed Onur Midfielder 18 175cm
33 Marcel Johnen Goalkeeper 18 186cm
36 Niklas Lomb Goalkeeper 27 186cm
37 Emrehan Gedikli Forward 18 184cm
38 Karim Bellarabi Midfielder 31 184mc
39 Cem Türkmen Midfielder 19 178cm