FC Augsburg

GroundWWK Arena
AddressBürgermeister-Ulrich-Straße 90, 86199 Augsburg, Germany
Ground Info Augsburg Arena, currently known commercially as the WWK Arena (officially stylised as WWK ARENA) is a football stadium in Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany. It is used mostly for football matches and hosts the home matches of FC Augsburg. The stadium has a capacity of 30,660 with 19,060 seats and standing room for 11,034. A second phase of construction could expand capacity to 49,000 in the future. It replaced the club's previous home stadium, Rosenaustadion. FC Augsburg played their first match in the new stadium in 2009 During the time of designing and constructing the stadium, it was called "Augsburg Arena". It was opened as "Impuls Arena" (officially stylised as impuls arena), and was renamed "SGL Arena" (officially stylised as SGL arena) after SGL Carbon acquired the naming rights for the structure in May 2011. The contract had a term of seven years and began on 1 July 2011. On 1 July 2015 the stadium naming rights were acquired by WWK, an insurance company, changing the official name of the stadium to "WWK ARENA". Augsburg was one of the official host cities of the 2010 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup and the subsequent 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup. The Impuls arena was the location of several matches during the group stage and the quarterfinals. During the FIFA-competitions it was renamed "FIFA Women's World Cup Stadium Augsburg". The stadium has hosted one Germany national team game and was nicknamed the "Anfield of the B17 highway" following FCA's 2016 Europa League Last 32 First Leg clash with Liverpool. WWK Arena is the first climate-neutral football stadium in the world. The carbon neutrality was achieved by six ecological heat pumps (40 m deep), which produce the desired temperature via heat exchangers. A bio natural gas boiler also supplies the necessary energy during peak load times at a game. In 2017, a new stadium facade will be made for the WWK Arena.
HonoursFußball-Club Augsburg 1907, commonly known as FC Augsburg or Augsburg, is a German football club based in Augsburg, Bavaria.
FC Augsburg play in the Bundesliga, the top tier of the German football league system. The team was founded as Fußball-Klub Alemania Augsburg in 1907 and played as BC Augsburg from 1921 to 1969. With over 18,800 members,[1] it is the largest football club in Swabian Bavaria.

The club has spent most of its history fluctuating between the second and third divisions, with disappointment striking in the early 2000s when Augsburg were relegated to the fourth division for two seasons. However, the club experienced a surge following this setback, and was eventually promoted to the Bundesliga for the first time in 2011, where it has remained ever since. Augsburg have consolidated their Bundesliga status in the 2010s, finishing a record high fifth in the 2014–15 season before several mid-table finishes, and made their European debut in the 2015–16 UEFA Europa League, with the club reaching the Round of 32 before being knocked out by Liverpool 1–0 on aggregate.

Since 2009, FC Augsburg's stadium has been the 30,660 capacity WWK ARENA, located south of Augsburg city centre and easily accessible via tram. The club, known as the Fuggerstädter or simply as FCA, receive strong home support with an average attendance of 28,709 in the 2019–20 Bundesliga season (93.6% of stadium capacity). It is a single tier stadium with a standing terrace behind one of the goals, known as the Ulrich-Biesinger-Tribüne, and three seated stands with a standing section in the opposite corner to the Ulrich-Biesinger-Tribüne for away fans.
2. Bundesliga
Runners-up: 2010–11
Regionalliga Süd (II-III)
Champions: 1973–74, 2005–06
Bayernliga (III-IV)
Champions: 1972–73, 1979–80, 1981–82, 1993–94, 2001–02
Runners-up: 1984–85
Schwaben Cup (Tiers III-V)
Winners: (13) 1968–69, 1969–70, 1970–71, 1971–1972, 1979–80, 1985–86, 1987–88, 1992–93, 1995–96, 1998–99, 2001–02, 2003–04, 2004–05
Runners-up: 1991–92
Under 19 Bundesliga
Champions: 1992–93
Under 17 Bundesliga
Runners-up: 1978–79
German Under 19 Cup
Winners: 1990–91, 1991–92, 1993–94, 1994–95
Under 19 Bayernliga
Champions: 1977–78, 1989–90, 1992–93, 1996–97, 2009–10, 2011–12, 2015–16
Runners-up: 1975–76, 1978–79, 1988–89, 2004–05, 2008–09
Under 17 Bayernliga
Champions: 1978–79, 1980–81, 1994–95, 2002–03, 2005–06, 2014–15
Runners-up: 1975–76, 1976–77, 1977–78, 1983–84, 1984–85, 1990–91, 2007–08, 2009–10
Under 15 Bayernliga
Champions: 1995–96, 2009–10
Runners-up: 1980–81, 1982–83, 1984–85, 1996–97
Visit website

FC Augsburg Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
Julian Schieber Forward 33 186cm
1 Rafal Gikiewicz Goalkeeper 34 190cm
2 Robert Gumny Defender 23 178cm
3 Mads Pedersen Defender 25 174cm
5 Marek Suchy Defender 34 183cm
6 Jeffrey Gouweleeuw Defender 30 187cm
7 Florian Niederlechner Forward 31 187cm
8 Rani Khedira Midfielder 28 188cm
11 Michael Gregoritsch Midfielder 28 193cm
14 Jan Morávek Midfielder 32 180cm
16 Rubén Vargas Midfielder 24 179cm
17 Noah Joel Sarenren Bazee Midfielder 25 183cm
18 Lászlo Bénes Midfielder 24 181cm
19 Felix Uduokhai Defender 24 192cm
20 Daniel Caligiuri Midfielder 34 182cm
22 Iago Defender 25 181cm
23 Marco Richter Midfielder 24 176cm
24 Fredrik Jensen Midfielder 24 183cm
25 Carlos Gruezo Midfielder 27 171cm
27 Alfred Finnbogason Forward 33 184cm
28 André Hahn Midfielder 31 185cm
32 Raphael Framberger Defender 26 179cm
33 Tobias Strobl Midfielder 32 188cm
36 Reece Oxford Defender 23 190cm
39 Benjamin Leneis Goalkeeper 23 195cm
40 Tomas Koubek Goalkeeper 29 197cm
41 Tim Civeja Midfielder 20 180cm