Atlético Madrid

GroundWanda Metropolitano
AddressAv. de Luis Aragonés, 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Ground Info Metropolitano Stadium (Spanish: Estadio Metropolitano), also referred to as Wanda Metropolitano for sponsorship reasons, is a stadium in Madrid, Spain. It has been the home stadium of Atlético Madrid since the 2017–18 season. It is located in the Rosas neighbourhood, in the San Blas-Canillejas district. The stadium was built as part of Madrid's unsuccessful bid to host the 1997 World Athletics Championships, and was opened on 6 September 1994 by the Community of Madrid. It was closed in 2004 due to the city's bid for the 2016 Olympics and in 2013 it was passed into the possession of Atlético Madrid. The stadium was renovated and the new facility was reopened to the public on 16 September 2017, when Atlético Madrid faced Málaga CF in La Liga. The stadium had a capacity of 20,000 spectators upon its closure and re-opened with a seating capacity of 68,456 after renovation. The stadium is home to Atlético Madrid's first team matches. Atlético Madrid offered Wanda Metropolitano as a permanent venue for the finals of the Spanish Copa del Rey matches. The stadium hosted the 2019 UEFA Champions League Final on 1 June 2019. The stadium was formerly known as Estadio de la Comunidad de Madrid (Madrid Community Stadium), Estadio Olímpico de Madrid (Madrid Olympic Stadium), and more commonly by its nickname Estadio de La Peineta (The Comb Stadium). Naming rights were acquired by the Wanda Group, a Chinese real estate company. Due to UEFA sponsorship regulations the stadium is known as Estadio Metropolitano in UEFA marketing materials.
HonoursClub Atlético de Madrid, commonly referred to as Atlético Madrid, is a professional football club based in Madrid, that play in La Liga.
The club play their home games at the Wanda Metropolitano Stadium, which has a capacity of 68,456.

In terms of league titles won, Atlético Madrid are the third most successful club in Spanish football – behind Real Madrid and Barcelona. Atlético have won La Liga on eleven occasions, including a league and cup double in 1996; the Copa del Rey on ten occasions; two Supercopas de España, one Copa Presidente FEF and one Copa Eva Duarte; in Europe, they won the European Cup Winners' Cup in 1962, were runners-up in 1963 and 1986, were UEFA Champions League runners-up in 1974, 2014 and 2016, won the Europa League in 2010, 2012 and 2018, and won the UEFA Super Cup in 2010, 2012 and 2018 as well as the 1974 Intercontinental Cup.

Atlético's home kit is red and white vertical striped shirts, blue shorts, and blue and red socks. This combination has been used since 1911. Throughout their history the club has been known by a number of nicknames, including Los Colchoneros ("The Mattress Makers"), due to their first team stripes being the same colours as traditional mattresses. During the 1970s, they became known as Los Indios, which some attribute to the club's signing several South American players after the restrictions on signing foreign players were lifted. However, there are a number of alternative theories which claim they were named so because their stadium was "camped" on the river bank, or because Los Indios (The Indians) were the traditional enemy of Los Blancos (The Whites), which is the nickname of the club's city rivals, Real Madrid. Felipe VI, the king of Spain, has been the honorary president of the club since 2003.

The club co-owned the Indian Super League (ISL) franchise in Kolkata, formerly named Atlético de Kolkata, which won the competition twice, but in 2017 Atlético decided to end its franchise partnership with the ISL club due to broken commitments. Atlético also co-owns Liga MX club Atlético San Luis, and the Canadian Premier League side Atlético Ottawa.
Domestic competitions
La Liga
Winners (11): 1939–40, 1940–41, 1949–50, 1950–51, 1965–66, 1969–70, 1972–73, 1976–77, 1995–96, 2013–14, 2020–21
Copa del Rey
Winners (10): 1959–60, 1960–61, 1964–65, 1971–72, 1975–76, 1984–85, 1990–91, 1991–92, 1995–96, 2012–13
Supercopa de España
Winners (2): 1985, 2014
Copa de los Campeones de España
Winners (1): 1940–41
Copa Presidente FEF
Winners (1): 1947
Copa Eva Duarte
Winners (1): 1951
Predecessor to Supercopa de España
International competitions
European Cup / UEFA Champions League
Runners-up (3): 1973–74, 2013–14, 2015–16
European Cup Winners' Cup
Winners (1): 1961–62
Runners-up (2): 1962–63, 1985–86
UEFA Europa League
Winners (3): 2009–10, 2011–12, 2017–18
UEFA Super Cup
Winners (3): 2010, 2012, 2018
Intercontinental Cup
Winners (1): 1974
Awards & recognitions
Globe Soccer Special Award: 2014
Globe Soccer Best Club of the Year: 2012, 2018
IFFHS The World's Club Team of the Year: 2018
Visit website

Atletico Madrid Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
Placeholder Renat Dadashov Forward 23 186cm
Luca Antei Defender 30 186cm
Julian Schieber Forward 33 186cm
Joseph Marie Minala Midfielder 25 184cm
- Alfie Mawson Defender 28 188cm
Placeholder Nikolai Kemlein Goalkeeper 19 190cm
Ruwen Werthmüller Forward 21 183cm
- Henri Saivet Midfielder 31 175cm
Fabio Schneider Midfielder 19 188cm
Aristóteles Romero Midfielder 26 184cm
Leroy Sané Midfielder 26 183cm
- Ouasim Bouy Ouasim Bouy Midfielder 28 181cm
Ali Akman Forward 20 173cm
Moussa Wagué Defender 23 177cm
João Queirós Defender 24 192cm
1 Péter Gulácsi Goalkeeper 32 190cm
1 Emil Audero Goalkeeper 25 192cm
1 Sergio Asenjo Goalkeeper 32 189cm
1 Jack Butland Goalkeeper 29 196cm
1 Nick Pope Goalkeeper 30 198cm
1 Gregor Kobel Goalkeeper 24 194cm
1 Luigi Sepe Goalkeeper 31 185cm
1 Álvaro Fernández Goalkeeper 24 186cm
1 Roman Bürki Goalkeeper 31 187cm
1 Sam Johnstone Goalkeeper 29 193cm
1 Ralf Fährmann Goalkeeper 33 197cm
1 Paulo Gazzaniga Goalkeeper 30 195cm
1 Jaume Doménech Goalkeeper 31 185cm
1 Timo Horn Goalkeeper 29 192cm
1 Stefan Ortega Goalkeeper 29 185cm
1 Boris Radunović Goalkeeper 25 194cm
1 Samir Handanovic Goalkeeper 37 193cm
1 Kasper Schmeichel Goalkeeper 35 189cm
1 Andreas Luthe Goalkeeper 35 195cm
1 Pietro Terracciano Goalkeeper 32 193cm
1 Koen Casteels Goalkeeper 29 197cm
1 Angelo da Costa Goalkeeper 38 186cm
1 Oliver Baumann Goalkeeper 31 187cm
1 Marco Silvestri Goalkeeper 31 191cm
1 Unai Simón Goalkeeper 24 190cm
1 Álex Remiro Goalkeeper 27 191cm
1 Juan Musso Goalkeeper 28 191cm
1 Alex McCarthy Goalkeeper 32 193cm
1 Lorenzo Montipò Goalkeeper 26 191cm
1 Kevin Trapp Goalkeeper 31 189cm
1 Alex Cordaz Goalkeeper 39 188cm
1 Ciprian Tatarusanu Goalkeeper 36 198cm
1 Jeremías Ledesma Goalkeeper 29 186cm
1 Joel Robles Goalkeeper 23 197cm
1 Hugo Lloris Goalkeeper 35 188cm