Athletic Club

GroundSan Mamés
AddressRafael Moreno Pitxitxi s/n, 48013 Bilbao, Bizkaia, Spain
Ground Info San Mamés (also known as Nuevo San Mamés or San Mames Barria) is an all-seater football stadium in Rafael Moreno Pitxitxi Kalea, Bilbao, Basque Country, Spain. Inaugurated on 16 September 2013, the stadium replaced the "old" San Mamés as the home of Athletic Bilbao. With a capacity of 53,289 seats, San Mamés is the 8th-largest stadium in Spain and the largest in the Basque Country. On 19 September 2014, San Mamés was selected as one of the 13 venues to host matches at UEFA Euro 2020. It was to host three group stage matches and one Round of 16 match in the tournament. Spain would have played all their group matches at the stadium, the first time the national team played in the Basque Country for more than 50 years (the old San Mamés hosted six games between 1921 and 1967 and a single fixture was played in San Sebastián in 1923). However, ultimately San Mamés was replaced by Estadio de La Cartuja in Seville due to the COVID-19 pandemic in Spain, with infection rates higher in the Basque Country than in Andalusia at the time of making final arrangements for the tournament in April 2021.  
HonoursAthletic Club, commonly known as Athletic Bilbao, is a professional football club based in the city of Bilbao in the Basque Country in Spain.
They are known as Los Leones (The Lions) because their stadium was built near a church called San Mamés (Saint Mammes). Mammes was an early Christian thrown to the lions by the Romans. Mammes pacified the lions and was later made a saint. The team plays its home matches at the San Mamés Stadium. Its home colours are red and white-striped shirts with black shorts.

Athletic are the fourth most successful club in La Liga with eight titles to their name. In the table of Copa del Rey titles, Athletic is second only to Barcelona, having won it 23 times. It is also the most successful Basque football club in both league and cup titles won. The club also has one of the most successful women's teams in Spain, which has won five championships in the Primera División Femenina.

The club is one of three founding members of the Primera División that have never been relegated from the top division since its inception in 1929, the others being Real Madrid and Barcelona. These three clubs, along with Osasuna, are the only four professional clubs in Spain that are not sports corporations; instead they are owned and operated by club members. Athletic's main rivals are Real Sociedad, against whom it contests the Basque derby, and Real Madrid, due to sporting and political rivalry. At various points in the club's history, further Basque league derbies have been contested against Alavés, Eibar and Osasuna.

The club is known for its cantera policy of bringing young Basque players through the ranks, as well as recruiting players from other Basque clubs. Athletic's official policy is to sign players native to or trained in football in the greater Basque Country, which includes Biscay, Gipuzkoa, Álava and Navarre (in Spain); and Labourd, Soule and Lower Navarre (in France). Since 1912, Athletic has played exclusively with players meeting its own criteria to be deemed Basque. This can be seen as a unique case in European football; it has gained Athletic both admirers and critics. The club has been praised for promoting home grown players and club loyalty. The rule does not apply to coaching staff, with several examples of non-Basques both from Spain and abroad having coached the first team.

Despite the implications of the name 'Athletic Club' in English, and unlike some of the other major Spanish teams which have several departments, it is not a multi-sport club, participating only in football, although sections for cycling and others existed prior to the Spanish Civil War in the 1930s.
La Liga (8): 1929–30, 1930–31, 1933–34, 1935–36, 1942–43, 1955–56, 1982–83, 1983–84
Copa del Rey (23): 1903, 1904, 1910, 1911, 1914, 1915, 1916, 1921, 1923, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1943, 1944, 1944–45, 1949–50, 1955, 1956, 1958, 1969, 1972–73, 1983–84[note 1]
Supercopa de España (3): 1984, 2015, 2020–21
Copa Eva Duarte: 1950
Visit website

Athletic club Players List

  Name PositionAgeHeight
1 Unai Simón Goalkeeper 24 190cm
2 Jon Morcillo Forward 23 183cm
3 Unai Núñez Defender 25 186cm
4 Iñigo Martínez Defender 31 182cm
5 Yeray Álvarez Defender 27 182cm
6 Mikel Vesga Midfielder 29 191cm
7 Ibai Gómez Forward 32 178cm
8 Unai López Midfielder 26 170cm
9 Iñaki Williams Forward 27 186cm
10 Iker Muniain Midfielder 29 169cm
12 Álex Berenguer Forward 26 175cm
13 Jokin Ezkieta Goalkeeper 25 193cm
14 Dani García Midfielder 31 179cm
15 Iñigo Lekue Defender 29 180cm
16 Oihan Sancet Midfielder 22 188cm
17 Yuri Berchiche Defender 32 181cm
18 Óscar de Marcos Defender 33 182cm
19 Oier Zarraga Midfielder 23 175cm
20 Asier Villalibre Forward 24 184cm
21 Ander Capa Defender 30 175cm
22 Raúl García Forward 35 184cm
23 Peru Nolaskoain Midfielder 23 186cm
24 Mikel Balenziaga Defender 34 177cm
25 Iago Herrerín Goalkeeper 34 187cm
26 Iñigo Vicente Forward 24 178cm
27 Unai Vencedor Midfielder 21 176cm